top of page

Flight passengers from 13 countries to be tested for Covid-19 on arrival to Greece

Passengers who arrive in Greece from 13 specific countries, regardless of their own nationality, will be required to submit to a coronavirus test upon arrival in the country, the Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) said in a new air directive (notam) on Thursday.

At the same time, the CAA extended the Covid-19 requirements for flight passengers arriving from abroad.

The CAA lists the 13 countries as:

  • Albania, Argentina, Brazil, China, Cuba, Egypt, Georgia, India, Libya, Morocco, Russia, Turkey and the United Arab Emirates.

The CAA also extended the current notam requirements for arrivals to Greece by air to 06:00 on August 27, 2021, to limit the dispersion of the Covid-19 virus.

Under the extended notam, entrance to Greece by air is denied to all third-country nationals (ie non-EU, non-Schengen countries) and their families. Exception is made for those travelling for essential reasons.

Also exempted from the entry ban are permanent residents of the following non-EU countries:

  • Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Brunei, Belarus, Canada, China, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Lebanon, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Qatar, Russia, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, and the Vatican.

In addition, all passengers regardless of nationality are required to have filled out the passenger locator form (PLF) at before flying to Greece, and to be able to show documentation for one of the following three options:

a) Have completed vaccination at least 14 days before travelling

b) Have a negative Covid-19 test (PCR within last 72 hours before arrival in Greece, or rapid test within last 48 hours before arrival )

c) Certificate of having contracted Covid-19, issued 30 days after the first positive diagnosis; this is valid up to 180 days after the first positive test)

Passengers may also provide a European digital certificate for any of the above.

All of the above requirements are valid for everyone over 12 years old.


bottom of page