top of page

Unvaccinated Australians are allowed to travel overseas from today,

we also list which countries you can travel to

Australia closed their borders in March 2020 due to the pandemic and kept them closed for almost two years.

During the border closures, the rules specified that Australians couldn’t travel overseas either unless they received an exemption.

In February of this year, Australia reopened its international borders to vaccinated travelers from overseas and residents to come home without quarantining. The mandatory quarantine period was lifted for all travelers and residents arriving in New South Wales who were fully vaccinated.

Over the past few months, the rest of Australia has slowly removed their travel restrictions and allowed travelers to enter and leave the country. However, the relaxed rules only applied to those who were fully vaccinated.

According to the official government site for Australia,, unvaccinated travelers are now able to leave the country for the first time in over two years.

“From 18 April 2022, unvaccinated Australian citizens and permanent residents can leave Australia without an individual travel exemption. Travelers entering or leaving Australia will no longer require a negative pre-departure test and cruise vessels can enter Australian territory,” the updated information on the government site reads.

However, while unvaccinated travelers are able to leave Australia, the same site stipulates that “international travelers who arrive in Australia without meeting vaccination requirements, and without an exemption, may be considered for visa cancellation, detention and removal.”

The United States, Indonesia and Thailand are just three of many countries requiring travelers to be fully vaccinated to enter the country without a quarantine period.

29 Countries Open For Unvaccinated Tourists

Slovakia Latvia Czech Republic Argentina England Montenegro Curacao Denmark Grenada Mongolia Moldova Maldives Norway Aruba Sweden Bulgaria Portugal El Salvador Panama Cyprus Tanzania Jamaica Mexico The Dominican Republic Belize South Africa Costa Rica Turkey Greece


bottom of page